House Members Reintroduce Next Generation Fuels Act

March 30, 2023

House Members Reintroduce Next Generation Fuels Act

Mar 30, 2023

Key Issues:EthanolHigh-Octane Low-Carbon

Author: Bryan Goodman

The Next Generation Fuels Act was reintroduced in the U.S. House of Representatives today. The National Corn Growers Association applauded the development, saying the legislation would help address the country’s most pressing energy issues through a transition to cleaner fuels and vehicles.

Rep. Mariannette Miller-Meeks (R-Iowa) led the bipartisan reintroduction of the bill along with Reps. Angie Craig (D-Minn.), Darin LaHood (R-Ill.) and Nikki Budzinski (D-Ill.)   

“We’re very grateful to Rep. Miller-Meeks, along with Reps. Craig, LaHood and Budzinski for taking the lead on this priority legislation for corn growers,” said NCGA President Tom Haag. “Advancing the Next Generation Fuels Act is timely for Congress’ work on energy and environmental issues, offering solutions that lower fuel costs, reduce emissions and help shore up America’s energy security for the long run.”

The Next Generation Fuels Act would clean up the nation’s fuel supply and transition new vehicles to use cleaner, more efficient fuels that also lower costs for drivers. By establishing a clean, high-octane standard for fuel and requiring that sources of additional octane result in at least 40% fewer greenhouse gas emissions, the legislation would allow automakers to significantly improve vehicle fuel efficiency through advanced engines.

The legislation builds the nation’s clean energy progress by advancing higher ethanol blends and new vehicles that work together to deliver greater emission reductions, cost savings and consumer choice.

As NCGA has called on the Biden administration to act to prevent a disruption in access to higher blends of ethanol this summer, the Next Generation Fuels Act would also permanently remove regulatory barriers, allowing for higher ethanol blends and advanced vehicles that maintain a wider range of competitive fuel and vehicle choices.

In addition to the four lead House sponsors, Reps. Don Bacon (R-Neb.), Mike Bost (R-Ill.), André Carson (D-Ind.), Emanuel Cleaver (D-Mo.), James Comer (R-Ky.), Randy Feenstra (R-Iowa), Brad Finstad (R-Minn.), Mike Flood (R-Neb.), Ashley Hinson (R-Iowa), Marcy Kaptur (D-Ohio), Dan Kildee (D-Mich.), Mike Lawler (R-N.Y.), Mary Miller (R-Ill.), Zach Nunn (R-Iowa), Elissa Slotkin (D-Mich.) and Eric Sorenson (D-Ill.) also joined the legislation as original cosponsors.


A companion bill was introduced in the Senate last week.