NCGA William C. Berg Academic Excellence in Agriculture Scholarship


2018 NCGA William C. Berg/BASF Scholarship Recipients


The National Corn Growers Association and BASF Corporation will award five $1,000 scholarships to undergraduate and graduate students pursuing a degree in any field.


Scholarship recipients will be selected in early 2019. Recipients and a parent or guardian will enjoy travel and lodging to attend the 2020 Commodity Classic in San Antonio, Texas to be recognized at the NCGA Banquet and have the opportunity to learn more about modern agriculture.


 Eligibility Requirements


  • Applicant must be entering at least his/her second undergraduate year at an accredited junior college, college or university.

  • Applicant must be an NCGA member or son/daughter of an NCGA member.

  • Employees and the families of employees of NCGA or any division of BASF or their subsidiaries are not eligible for the scholarship.

  • Applications must be submitted by December 1, 2019.

  • Scholarships are for one year. Previous recipients may not apply.



Your Application Packet MUST Include


  • Completed application

  • Completed application

  • Current transcript from junior college, college or university

  • Three (3) letters of recommendation (at least two must be from non-family members, and one should be from a faculty member)

  • Current resume or list of activities, awards and honors

  • 500-word essay, limited to 1-page, on "How will YOU positively impact agriculture in your future career?"

  • A few paragraphs on “What are the three most important issues facing agriculture today?”


Program Timeline





About BASF

BASF Crop Protection’s vision is to be the world’s leading innovator in optimizing agricultural production and improving and enhancing nutrition and the quality of life by delivering products and services that meet the needs of customers and contribute to the sustainability of agriculture. For more information on BASF please visit



About William C. Berg


The NCGA-BASF college scholarship program is named in honor of Ohio farmer William C. Berg.  A retired postal worker and farmer for more than 40 years, Bill served in various positions for both the Ohio Corn and Wheat Growers Association and the National Corn Growers Association. He tirelessly carried the agriculture message to Washington, DC year after year, where he sat face-to-face with congressmen and senators to lobby for sound agriculture policy on behalf of his fellow farmers. Bill passed away unexpectedly in 2012 and NCGA and Ohio Corn wished to honor his legacy. Program recipients can be proud to receive a scholarship honoring this staunch supporter of modern American agriculture.



Other State Corn Association Scholarships


Members of state corn associations may be eligible for additional scholarships within their home state. 


Iowa Corn


Kansas Corn


Kentucky Corn Growers Association 


Maryland Grain Producers


Michigan Corn 


Missouri Corn 


Nebraska Corn Growers


North Dakota Corn Growers Association 


Ohio Corn and Wheat Growers 


Texas Corn Producers  


Virginia Grain Producers