(Posted Mon. Feb 10th, 2014)

The National Corn Growers Association’s Grower Services Action Team met last week in New Orleans for updates on NCGA programs dealing with membership, leadership and communications. The meeting came directly after the biennial Membership Symposium.


“NCGA’s many programs to support membership, build new leaders and communicate our work have seen great growth and success lately,” said team Chair Tom Haag, a Minnesota corn grower. “In the past several months, we’ve seen record membership, kicked off a new program for young leaders and seen our communications programs reach high levels of engagement with the non-farming public. Our team is excited about the future for our organization in these three areas.”


At the meeting, the team reviewed this year’s winners of the ongoing scholarship program, who will be announced at Commodity Classic, received an update on coming changes to Commodity Classic with the addition of the Association of Equipment Manufacturers, brainstormed on a new award program to recognize outstanding work by state affiliates, and were briefed on the kickoff of the NCGA DuPont New Leaders Program the previous week.


When the meeting ended, the team toured a nearby ADM grain port facility in Ama, La., to see how grain is handled before shipped to other ports around the world. This particular operation is one of several in the area along the lower Mississippi River, and has a silo capacity of 5 million bushels. Overall, the facility moves up to 400 million bushels a year, shipping 20 different grains and processed products to more than 50 countries overseas.


Members of this year’s Grower Services Action Team include Tom Haag, chairman, of Minnesota; Kent Kleinschmidt, vice chairman, of Illinois; Kevin Ross, Corn Board liaison, of Iowa; Justin Durdan of Illinois; Roscoe Eggers of Iowa; Lori Feltis of Minnesota; Les Imboden of Ohio; Patty Mann of Ohio; Larry Mason of Texas; David Merrell of Nebraska; Ted Mottaz of Illinois, Danny Nerud of Nebraska; Mark Scott of Missouri; and Katie Glick, state staff representative, of Indiana. NCGA staff serving the team and present for the meeting were Tim Brackman, director of development; Ken Colombini, director of communications; Mike Shelby, association and member services specialist; and Vickie Darland, administrative assistant.