MARCH 2012


(Posted Fri. Mar 2nd, 2012)

Mar. 2: The National Corn Growers Association, in conjunction with sponsor BASF, honored recipients of the Academic Excellence in Agriculture Scholarship this week at Commodity Classic 2012 in Nashville, Tenn.  This year, the scholarships, created to foster promising agricultural leaders for the future, provided five winners with $1,000 for use in pursuing a degree in an agriculture-related field.


"This is the fifth year we've recognized students who are in a position to make a real impact in agriculture," said Brandon Hunnicutt, NCGA's Grower Services Action Team Chair. "The support provided by BASF allows us to ease the financial burden on these students, allowing them to focus on their education."


Recipients of the NCGA scholarship include:


  • Andrew Perry of Columbia, Missouri - Perry is a sophomore at the University of Missouri-Columbia, studying agricultural economics and plant science.
  • Andy Chamra of Rose Hill, Iowa - Chamra is a junior at Iowa State University pursuing agricultural business.
  • Gracie Weinzierl of Stanford, Illinois - Weinzierl is a sophomore at Illinois State University majoring in agricultural education in addition to crop and soil science.
  • Denise Beam of Elverson, Pennsylvania - Beam is a sophomore at Pennsylva-nia State University pursuing a degree in animal sciences with an agricultural business management minor.
  • Bethany Olson of Jewell, Iowa - Olson is a junior at Iowa State University specializing in agricultural business and international agriculture.

“BASF is proud to partner with NCGA to help develop the industry leaders of tomorrow,” said Paul Rea, Vice President, U.S. Crop Protection. “The enthusiasm and excellence of the scholarship recipients are impressive. We are honored to help them accomplish their goals.”


For more information on the scholarship program, click here.