(Posted Fri. Feb 3rd, 2012)

NCGAFeb. 3:  Six corn growers from around the country have been nominated for election to the National Corn Growers Association’s Corn Board for the 2013 fiscal year, which begins October 1. New board members will be elected by state delegates at the Corn Congress this July in Washington.


“Each year, we get a great group of dedicated growers who sacrifice their time on the farm to serve their national organization, and American agriculture in general,” said NCGA Chairman Bart Schott, chair of the Nominating Committee. “These six growers have already proved they have the right stuff, through years of leadership at the local, state and even national level. We salute their interest in taking on more of a leadership role, and we know it’s going to be a hard decision for our delegates this summer.”


Those nominated include, in alphabetical order:


Keith Alverson of Chester, S.D. Alverson is running for re-election to the Corn Board and is a former chair of the NCGA Ethanol Committee and former vice president of the South Dakota Corn Utilization Council. He serves as secretary/treasurer of the South Dakota Corn Growers Association. He and his wife, Kari, operate a sixth-generation farm, growing 2.600 acres of corn and soybeans.


Anthony Bush of Mt. Gilead, Ohio.  Bush serves as chair of the NCGA Public Policy Action Team and as vice president of the Ohio Corn and Wheat Growers Association. He farms 1,450 acres of corn, soybeans and wheat at the eastern edge of the Corn Belt in central Ohio, where he lives with his wife, Teresa, and four children.


Don Elsbernd of Postville, Iowa. Elsbernd is past president of the Iowa Corn Growers Association and a director of the Iowa Corn Promotion Board. In addition, he serves on the NCGA Public Policy Action Team and is a former member of NCGA’s Grower Services Action Team and the Corn Vision 2012 Communications Committee. He his wife, Trish, farm no-till corn and soybeans in northeast Iowa.


Mike Geske of Matthews, Mo. Geske is running for re-election to the Corn Board and is the board’s liaison to the NCGA Ethanol Committee and the National Pork Producers Council. He is a former chairman of the NCGA Public Policy Action Team and a past president of the Missouri Corn Growers Association. Geske, his wife, Jami, and their son farm 2,200 acres of corn, cotton, rice, soybeans and wheat in southeastern Missouri.


Gary Schmalshof of Adair, Ill. Schmalshof is a former chairman and current member of the Illinois Corn Marketing Board and a member of the executive committee of the U.S. Grains Council. In addition, he is a member of the NCGA Trade Policy and Biotechnology Action Team. Schmalshof and his wife, Theresa, farm 5,100 acres with his two sons, with whom he also runs a trucking and seed business as well as a crop insurance agency.


Kevin Skunes of Arthur, N.D. Skunes is chairman of the North Dakota Corn Utilization Council and a member of the NCGA Ethanol Committee. He is a former director of the Northern Crops Institute and former chairman of the North Dakota Farm Bureau.  Skunes, his wife, Betty, and their two sons farm 4,900 acres of corn and soybeans in Cass Country, N.D.


More information about these candidates will be released in the Nominating Committee Report at the upcoming NCGA Corn Congress, to be held March 1 and 3 at Commodity Classic in Nashville, Tenn.