(Posted Fri. Jun 14th, 2013)

Keywords: Leadership at Its Best

June 14: The National Corn Growers Association announced participants for the fourth class of NCGA’s Advanced Leadership Program, co-sponsored by Syngenta. This year’s class includes seven Leadership at Its Best graduates who will undergo intensive training in order to hone their media, leadership and lobbying skills and prepare to lead the industry forward. “We are excited to see another class of leaders who seek to truly elevate their skillset and further their work on behalf of U.S. farmers,” said NCGA President Pam Johnson. “NCGA depends upon grassroots leadership, and, as a graduate of the program, I personally understand the important role this program plays in helping develop the skills and build the relationships necessary to lead such a dynamic organization in an ever-changing environment.” This year’s Advanced Leadership Class includes: Jedediah Bower (Ohio); William Christ (Ill.); Jerry Lee Demmer (Minn.); John Linder (Ohio); Debra Keller (Iowa); Bruce Rohwer (Iowa);...

(Posted Tue. Mar 19th, 2013)

Keywords: Leadership at Its Best

Mar. 19: Corn farmers from across the country traveled to Washington this week to take part in the second phase of an annual leadership development program co-sponsored by the National Corn Growers Association and Syngenta. While in town, they visited numerous members of the Senate and House of Representatives and got an inside look at parliamentary procedure and how lobbying works on Capitol Hill. “For more than a quarter of a century, Leadership at its Best has been an invaluable tool for helping corn growers become leaders at the state and national level,” said NCGA Chairman Garry Niemeyer, himself a graduate of the program. Niemeyer came to Washington to welcome the class and provide an update on NCGA’s issues and programs. “In Washington, we can see first-hand – and very quickly – how decisions made here impact us back on the farm. Having a strong voice here in the Capitol is very important for NCGA and its farmer members.” This year’s class includes Ben Augustine (Wisc.),...